Shooting in Columbia Heights

My wife and I live in the apartment building that is next to the Columbia Heights Metro [Map].  Today, just after 3pm we heard two gunshots fired right next to the station near Five Guys restaurant along Irving Street…in the middle of the afternoon in broad daylight! 

The corner of 14th and Irving Streets was swarming with police shortly after the shooting.

The corner of 14th and Irving Streets was swarming with police shortly after the shooting.

We heard the shots fired and then we looked out our second-story apartment window and saw people scatter.  Soon afterward, we heard police and ambulance sirens arrive and once we knew it was safe again, we went outside to find more information.  There were two shots fired and two people taken away by ambulance.  We saw one of the victims.  He was a Latino male and his leg was injured, but he was standing and talking with the police.  We did not see the other victim, who reportedly had run across the street before lying down in front of the CVS on the corner of 14th and Irving. 

Directly after the shooting, police and investigators were seen all over the area.

Directly after the shooting, police and investigators were seen all over the area.

It is quite unnerving that people are shot right in front of the Metro Station in the middle of the afternoon.  I know I speak for most Columbia Heights residents when I say I hope this is the last of an already too high number of shooting incidents that our neighborhood has recently seen.

In addition to the direct eye witnesses who scattered from the area following the shooting, there were many concerned onlookers following the arrival of police and ambulance.

In addition to the direct eye witnesses who scattered from the area following the shooting, there were many concerned onlookers following the arrival of police and ambulance.

Post-shooting Interviews

Council Member, Jim Graham, and Assistant Chief of Police, Diane Groomes, provide the press with post-shooting interviews.

8 responses to “Shooting in Columbia Heights

  1. Hi there. My name is Sarah Mimms and I work for the Washington Post. Thanks for posting this on our site. We’re still looking into the story – if you wouldn’t mind talking with one of our reporters or giving us some more information, I’d really appreciate it. You can reach me at sarah.mimms@wpni.com

    • “I know I speak for most Columbia Heights residents when I say I hope this is the last of an already too high number of shooting incidents that our neighborhood has recently seen.”

      I wish. Summer’s just starting; I suspect we’re going to have to get used to this for a while.

  2. Hey I Was there when it happened. i had just got off the train station 1 minute before it happened. i thought there were goin to be ppl who got shot runnin with guns tellin ppl to get down but no for some reason everybody kept doin what they were doin. which is very disturbing. police needs to kick it up a notch in Columbia Heights. im a 15 yr-old girl who has been living in the area for all mah life and this is normal for me. which is a bad thing to say but its true.

    • Herlinda,

      Please tell your friends to stay away from any and all who would raise their fists or guns to resolve their conflicts. So many young people who live or travel through our neighborhood are affected by violence. It’s up to us to say enough! We deserve better.

  3. Pingback: metro: juju | urban bohemian

  4. What is really scary to me is the timing. Only one week ago you would have had children being released from four schools converging at that corner. When the shooting occurred yesterday, my son and I would have been walking by at that exact moment, but I decided to stay at work a little longer, and, by some providential coincidence, I had my car with me. That is our regular route on foot. To say I am angry, frustrated and scared is an understatement. We are one of those families who could easily have opted to live in another neighborhood or the suburbs, but we chose to live, work, shop and worship in Columbia Heights. In my job I happen to work with our youth, and I see very sensitive, bright and nonviolent people who are likely to become our future leaders. My issue is with parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles and the adults in their lives. You better get yourselves to together and step it up. Stop aiding and abetting counter productive behavior in your community. You all sit around and lament whitey, gentrification, and everything else. Do what you can to protect what you have — your babies.

  5. Hey folks,
    Thanks for reading and commenting. I had to remove a few comments that were mean-spirited. Please, do not post thoughts that are personal attacks…they are not constructive and they will not be placed on these pages.
    Thanks,
    Pete Witte

  6. Pete, thanks for this account, and thanks for keeping things civil.

Leave a Reply

